Python Forum
Which database should I learn
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Which database should I learn
I am a teacher who has realized lots of programming opportunities in the education sector so I am learning programming to take advantage of that. The business I want to pursue is providing a mobile app and web frontend for school management and teaching while helping students also to do school activities online. From my research I think Python will be good for this. That is why I am taking a Python course, MIT 600.1x. I foresee that this project will involve several schools and students so I am divided on which database will serve my needs. Can someone recommend a database system that would scale to literally a 100,000 students and schools accessing its content on a daily basis and would work fine. To add to my Python skills.
Thanks.
That depends on a lot of things. The design/layout of the database and the specifics of the access patterns will be crucial. That many people doing a row lookup would be trivial, while that many people doing thousands of updates might be slammed.

I think the setup and design of the DB, and how the front end accesses it are going to be much more important than which DB is chosen (to a point).

I'm not sure that this forum is the best place for DB design decisions, which is what it sounds like you're looking for.
(Jun-08-2020, 06:20 AM)bowlofred Wrote: That depends on a lot of things. The design/layout of the database and the specifics of the access patterns will be crucial. That many people doing a row lookup would be trivial, while that many people doing thousands of updates might be slammed.

I think the setup and design of the DB, and how the front end accesses it are going to be much more important than which DB is chosen (to a point).

I'm not sure that this forum is the best place for DB design decisions, which is what it sounds like you're looking for.